Heal Your Chakras to Change Your Karma - Color & Sound Meditations

Your body has a number of different systems that compose it and keep it functioning well. The circulatory system transports blood, water and essential nutrients to where they need to be. The nervous system animates you and controls all the systems of the body.

The subtle body also has systems in place. Just as the name implies, this body is a subtle extension of the physical. The two bodies are intimately connected as one system.

The main centers of this body are called chakras. They are essential components of the subtle circulation system, which governs the flow of energy and consciousness.

The word “chakra” means wheel, and that’s because these seven energy centers spin in a clockwise direction. When the spinning gets interrupted or halted entirely, you may experience physical, mental or spiritual symptoms.

Everything you eat, drink, do and think has an influence on the chakras. Information you take in through your senses also affects them in various ways.

Each Chakra Has Its Own Frequency Range

Chakras spin and oscillate at very high frequencies, and the frequencies of each chakra are different. Yoga teachings on the chakras assign a color to each one. This is the color whose frequency has a close affinity with that chakra.

Chakra 1: Root Chakra at base of spine and perineum. Red

Chakra 2: Sex Chakra near pubic bone. Yellow.

Chakra 3: Navel Chakra below belly button. Orange.

Chakra 4: Heart Chakra in center of chest. Green.

Chakra 5: Throat Chakra in center of throat. Blue.

Chakra 6: Third Eye Chakra between eyebrows. Indigo.

Chakra 7: Crown Chakra at top of head where it’s soft. Violet.

Notice that these are the colors of the rainbow, in order. That’s no coincidence.

Chakra Color Meditation

You can meditate on each chakra by visualizing a ball of light there with the color indicated above. Imagine the ball spinning and becoming brighter.

You can also begin with a passive visualization. This means you allow the ball to manifest as it pleases and reveal itself to you. It could have dark spots or look dull or “diseased” at first. It could be flat like a deflated basketball. As it spins, it gradually looks fuller, brighter and healthier.

Karma Manifests in the Chakras

“Unfortunately, not many people understand the true meaning of karma. Karma is your mindset. Karma is Time. Karma is Life. It is what is happening to you via the thoughts that come to your mind. Essentially, you are run by your karma due to your thoughts, actions and feelings, and through pleasure or pain. Therefore, everything is karma, and it is the energy that rules one’s life from birth to death.” - Dr. Pillai

The Law of Karma is also known as the Law of Cause and Effect. It’s a feedback system that works on the subtle energy level. Karma is determined by actions and thought patterns, and related conscious and unconscious beliefs.

Karmic thought patterns, or impressions, manifest in the chakras, especially the throat. They can help the chakras function smoothly or cause problems.

You can change your karma by changing your thoughts and actions. It’s not as fatalistic as many people think. Dr. Pillai once quoted psychologist Carl Jung on the topic. “Until you make the unconscious conscious, it will direct your life, and you will call it fate.” Working with your chakras is one of the keys to your unconscious

You Can Change Karma & Heal Chakras with Sound

Above, we explored the color each chakra resonates with. If you have tried any of the color meditations from that section, you were using light frequencies to heal your chakras. You can also heal your chakras with sounds. Sound is similar to light, but it operates at a lower frequency.

There are different sounds that have different effects on each chakra. If you’re in a New York City subway station, the sounds in that environment probably aren’t going to heal any chakras. They could even cause a little chaos in your subtle body. Listening to birds while on a hike, on the other hand, can calm the mind and have a calming effect on some of the chakras.

As I, your Mystery Author for the day,  type this, I’m listening to Dr. Nipun Aggarwal (DgyaanGuru) chant Om Narayanaya Swarnaya Hari Om, a Golden Vishnu chant that heals money and health karma. You can say he’s a master of making mantras absolutely beautiful with his voice and melodies. Beauty creates a force that connects you to your chakras more intimately. You can find his music on YouTube.

There are mantras that were created with the healing of karma and chakras in mind. The basic “seed” mantras for the chakras are called Bija mantras.

Swami Satchidananda, Founder of Integral Yoga, was one of the major figures who brought the OM mantra to the West. He taught the hippies at Woodstock to “Om for Peace.” This Bija mantra syllable resonates closely with the primordial sound of the universe. It’s associated, most of all, with the Third Eye Chakra, which is between your eyebrows and a little bit inward.

Chakra Sound Meditation

You can meditate using bija mantras. Focus on the chakra associated with the bija mantra. Prolong it. For instance, instead of a quick Om, say OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM. Let it span at least a few seconds. Keep repeating it, taking a big inhale in between repetitions.

Chakra 1: Root Chakra: Lahm. Encourages financial, social and physical security.

Chakra 2: Sex/Pubic Chakra. Vahm. Encourages sexual health, healthy boundaries and creativity.

Chakra 3: Navel Chakra. Vahm or Rahm. Encourages willpower, healthy ambition, personal power and self-control over impulses.

Chakra 4: Heart Chakra. Yahm. Encourages compassion, relationship health, perception of oneness with other souls and emotional health.

Chakra 5: Throat Chakra. Hahm. Encourages loosening of stubborn karma, self-expression and living in accordance with your Higher Truth.

Chakra 6: Third Eye Chakra. Om. Encourages intuition, perception of the unity of all things and the realization of your spiritual life purpose.

Chakra 7: Crown Chakra. Om or Ah. Encourages intuition, “direct knowing” (knowing things as fact without being able to articulate how) and realization of oneness with Spirit. Heals feelings of insignificance and meaninglessness.

Alternatively, you can go through the whole list in your meditation instead of sticking to one Bija mantra and chakra.

Herbs that Heal Karma in Your Chakras

Eclipta Alba, aka Bhringaraj: Eclipta Alba enhances the exact type of concentration you need for deep meditation, protects the liver, increases dream activity and activates the Crown Chakra. It also purifies karma in all the chakras. Nambu’s Enlightenment Formula is PHONEME INFUSED with sound healing frequencies that support your Crown Chakra.

Buy Enlightenment Formula

Tulsi, aka Holy Basil: Tulsi boosts your immune system, reduces the stress hormone cortisol, fuels your brain and other organs with oxygen and heals your Heart Chakra. Nambu’s Love & Grace Formula is PHONEME INFUSED™ with sound healing syllables that support your Heart Chakra.

Buy Love & Grace Formula

Bacopa Monnieri: Bacopa is a nootropic that increases memory, makes it hard to forget newly learned information, protects the brain from cognitive decline and cleanses your Third Eye Chakra. It’s the primary memory and intuition booster in South India. Nambu’s Hi-Memory Formula is PHONEME INFUSED™ with sound healing frequencies that clean and strengthen your Third Eye.

Buy Hi-Memory Formula

Guduchi: Guduchi is an anti-aging herb that is so full of life that it does not need soil or water to grow. It interrupts allergic reactions, strengthens the immune system, improves digestion, reduces inflammation, relieves stiff and painful joints, heals your Throat Chakra and loads you with anti-aging antioxidants. Nambu’s Guduchi Formula is PHONEME INFUSED™ with sound healing frequencies that support the Throat Chakra.

Buy Guduchi